1. ** WARNING - ACF CONTAINS ADULT CONTENT **
    Only persons aged 18 or over may read or post to the forums, without regard to whether an adult actually owns the registration or parental/guardian permission. AmberCutie's Forum (ACF) is for use by adults only and contains adult content. By continuing to use this site you are confirming that you are at least 18 years of age.
    Dismiss Notice

Impossible to cam2cam on Streamate now?

Discussion in 'General Cam Chat' started by snuggly, Oct 3, 2018.

  1. snuggly

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    I've tried everything I can... I go into Private, click the cam2cam button, it fails instantly and has a Retry button which does the same thing; there's no "Allow" pop-up (in Chrome or any other browser) like on other sites, I've already cleared cache and cookies etc, no other site has an issue.

    I talked to support multiple times, they either don't understand or don't care, though I did discover if I click the lock icon at the left of the address bar at the top that I sometimes get a Settings (gear) option to manually set Camera to "Allow" for the site (or the option just appears in the box sometimes, not sure why), but even setting that temporarily or permanently doesn't work either.

    I use Incognito in Chrome (or Private in Firefox, though cam2cam doesn't work in ANY browser I've tried under any circumstances for the site), and I don't want to add a porn site to my normal non-private settings... I did however discover that Chrome allows me to add another "person", which I did for a separate private email, which allows for its own Settings, but even enabling it permanently there doesn't solve the problem. My cam is recognized by the browser and operating system (Windows 7), however Streamate for some reason just absolutely will not work unless I apparently add it to "Allow" all the time permanently in my main primary Chrome Google account...

    Can someone explain this? It really looks like Streamate is trying to subvert normal browser behavior and protections and try to spy on its users or somehow connect online tracking with our normal surfing behavior, which is egregious considering it's an adult site and I'm already paying for the session (corporatism is not an excuse, thank you, I'm having no problems with their competition, which they don't seem to care about).
     
  2. SaffronBurke

    Cam Model

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    16,463
    Nah, Streamate is just notoriously buggy as fuck and refuses to acknowledge it, and they keep pushing contests instead of fixing shit.

    Supposedly, there's a little gear icon under every model's feed that you can use to adjust resolution and such, and there's supposed to be an option there to report issues. They don't reply, but it goes into a database or something and it theoretically helps them fix shit. Use the ever-loving fuck out of that thing every time you experience an issue. Feed lagging? Use it. Audio and video out of sync? Use it. Feed super pixelated or cutting out? Use it. Can't turn your cam on? Use it. Having that issue where you can't tip or go private? Use it.

    Theoretically, this will generate some report and they'll actually attempt to do something about it. I say "theoretically" because there have been site-wide issues since about 2015 or so and they spent most of those three years blaming it on the model's set up every time we complained.
     
    • Agree Agree x 8
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
  3. SaffronBurke

    Cam Model

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    16,463
    I sound kinda pissy in that post, so to clarify: I don't hate Streamate in the slightest, they are hands down my favorite site to work on and the clientele meshes well with my camming style, but good grief the constant glitches and denial of them over the years has been frustrating. They ARE finally addressing things, but only after droves of customers left the site because things just weren't working.

    They have an issue reporting tool on both the model AND member side, and like I mentioned, it goes to a report of some kind, and they're able to look into the issue and see if it's user-end (duh, of course you're getting disconnected, don't cam during a thunderstorm, self), or an actual site issue that they need to address. It's important that everyone use these tools when they experience these issues, because they can't fix things if they don't have feedback.

    Also, members, PLEASE tell models when our feeds are fucked up. Very few people tell us, and we need to know so we can fix it. When someone tells me my feed is fucked (bless you, I appreciate it) I always check OBS to see if I'm dropping frames. If I am, I disconnect and reconnect. If I'm not, I ask the viewer to refresh his browser, and typically that clears up the issue, but if not, I reconnect. I always report the issue if it's my end, and ask the viewer to report it if it's his end.

    Unfortunately, I don't know how to work with the cam not working issue aside from just hounding support. Maybe someone else will.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. SMuser69

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    The cam2cam feature is still flash based. I actually use Brave browser now when using SM because it has the least latency issues. However since they switched to HTML only the delay for cam2cam is horrible on SM regardless of browser and can be as much as 12 seconds between talking the model reacting to what you said. This delay is also the same when the model has private phone on also.
     
  5. Sillykitty

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    C2C has only worked in my chat if the member is on a browser that is not chrome. I've had a few members remark recently that something new with chrome has made flash buggy on good sites, then adding streamate's unreliability to it as well is a disaster. That said, about 7 out of every 10 c2c sessions work for me by the 3rd try. Members using their phones have the most lag.

    Not sure if that helps any, but that's my experience recently.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
  6. Poison_Ivy21

    Cam Model

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,313
    When dealing with c2c issues I often tell users that persistence is key. It might not work the first time, but the third time could be the charm. I also encourage guys to switch browsers if they’re dealing with frequent problems. Trying out a different approach can’t hurt.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  7. CamGirlKitten

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    I actually have a totally different theory as to why this could be.
    So as models we have an option to opt into beta testing new versions of the chat software, and recently they've released a beta version they call "SMConnect", which currently does not support cam2cam and a number of other useful features models love, like room topics and whatnot. So if you see a model with no room topic, and can't cam2cam with her, it's because she's using the new SMConnect beta chatroom. Politely suggest she switch back to the original when she has a chance.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 2
  8. ForceTen

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,864
    I had the same issue on MFC a couple weeks ago. Went back to FF and works fine. It's because of Chrome and how it interacts with Flash.
     
    • Hugs Hugs x 1
  9. SMuser69

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    It does support cam2cam because c2c doesn't work at all if the model uses obs for some reason similar to mfc
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 4
  10. CamGirlKitten

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Models can choose whether or not to use the new beta chatroom or not. If a model chooses not to use it, her cam2cam will probably work just fine. If she chooses to use the new SMConnect one, the cam2cam will be automatically declined and the model will never see the invite, because Streamate simply hasn't built that functionality into the new one yet.
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  11. SaffronBurke

    Cam Model

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    16,463
    SM Connect is a different format in the browser side, like the old browser system it can be used with SMBroadcast, OBS, or FMLE. I've tried it once, but I don't like the lack of room topic. It's very similar to the layout of the broadcast window on Cams.com, which is interesting because on Cams you can see if a member is signed up through a network site or directly through the site, so I wonder if they'll be adding that functionality.

    And I use OBS and members are able to do cam2cam no problem when I'm using the old browser layout, I'm not sure who told you that it doesn't work, because that's just not true.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  12. DearestVixen

    Cam Model

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    689
    This is rather not true. I have never used beta and almost every single night I have issues with cam2cam. The very least of which being ten second lag. The worst being freezing, disconnection, audio desyncing, or just failure to connect in the first place. It's exceedingly frustrating and even more so that Streamate knows this is an issue but truly fails to help. I even emailed them asking them what tips I could give members who were having trouble getting their cameras connected and they simply said to have the member contact them. This is and has been a massive issue.
    @snuggly Please know you're not alone though I have no tips on how to fix it other than to harass Streamate's support about it
     
    • Helpful Helpful x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. a_haze420

    Cam Model

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2017
    Messages:
    2,227
    This is untrue. I use obs and do c2c all the time. Although sometimes it does not work or is glitchy but I had the same amount of issued with it when using SMB.
     
    • Agree Agree x 9
  14. snuggly

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    What is "obs"? Sorry if I missed that.

    Cam started working a while ago, now it doesn't for every one I try... *sigh*

    I'll mention the beta software.
     
  15. CosmicRose

    Cam Model

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    She was talking about the new beta chat room, not the SMBroadcaster. No, the new beta chat room does not support c2c yet. Yes, you can c2c with SM models who are broadcasting on OBS. You literally have no idea what you are talking about. Please stop.

    It is a software models can use to broadcast. It has nothing to do with the c2c issues you are having on SM.
     
    • Agree Agree x 6
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  16. LittleLei

    Cam Model

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    3,988
    Chiming I’m to also say I have no issues doing c2c with OBS or SM Broadcast.

    Just an estimation, but I will comfortably say that 7/10 c2c sessions go fine. If the member’s camera is a long loading screen, I don’t know why, but on the 3rd try it will load properly. If there is no connection after accepting the camera request prompt, I ask the member to try a different browser (this works sometimes).

    Mobile c2c started out as a cool new feature, but frankly if the member is streaming themselves with no audio and has to type, there will always be a delay. I have never experienced a seamless streaming c2c connection on mobile.

    And like also the issue could be on the member side. You don’t gotta have the top of the line computer, internet or camera, but if you’re in the dark with a slow ass connection, that’s not on the model...
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  17. Emberblaze

    Cam Model

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,144
    I just want to chime in and say I exclusively cam with OBS and 9/10 of my cam2cam requests work.

    So @SMuser69 I'm not sure where you got your information but you are incorrect. The broadcaster the model uses shouldn't affect the members ability to open their cam. I've also used SMB and FMLE without issue.

    The broadcast page itself (we use both a broadcaster and broadcast page if we stream in hd) will affect c2c as the new version will not work for C2C
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  18. AudriTwo

    Cam Model

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,262
    Please explain to us how obs effects c2c @SMuser69. Because I have been using it for over a year and c2c issues started like last month...
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  19. Songbird_Shelly

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,170
    I lost a customer from an exclusive session recently because the fucking cam-to-cam feature wouldn't work. I was pissed. But since then, I did have at least one other guy do c2c with me, and it worked fine then.

    There's always something fucked up with Streamate, it seems. Half the time I can't even cam on there with Google Chrome (my preferred browser) because it won't detect my webcam...just shows a black screen So then I have to use Firefox instead. But last night and this afternoon I was/am able to broadcast on Google Chrome. Alrighty then...

    And then there are times when it won't even let me edit/type up a new room topic after I've clicked the 'Clear Topic' button.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice