AmberCutie's Forum
An adult community for cam models and members to discuss all the things!

PMs + DMs are now merged in Messages

  • ** WARNING - ACF CONTAINS ADULT CONTENT **
    Only persons aged 18 or over may read or post to the forums, without regard to whether an adult actually owns the registration or parental/guardian permission. AmberCutie's Forum (ACF) is for use by adults only and contains adult content. By continuing to use this site you are confirming that you are at least 18 years of age.

punker barbie

Chaturbate.com
Industry Representative
Sep 1, 2011
13,380
388
1,892
343
Orange County, Ca
www.chaturbate.com

PMs + DMs are being merged in Messages​


Messages.png

We want to let you know that a new unified Messages inbox is here. Your PMs and DMs are now in one place, so you don’t have to remember where a conversation started to find it again.

Here’s what’s new:
  • One inbox for PMs and DMs. Open your inbox from the Messages tab or the floating icon in the lower right corner.
  • In Session tab. When you’re live, Messages opens to In Session, which works like the old PM tab. It shows everyone who’s messaged you from your room during your stream. When your stream ends, In Session clears and the next one starts fresh.
  • Fewer interruptions during streams. Messages from people outside your room go to All and won’t pop up during your show.
  • Filters. You’ll be able to sort your messages by In Session, All, Unread, Tipped, Following, or Followers.
  • Built-in ChaturSafe. Spam and poaching attempts will be automatically filtered out of your inbox.
A few things to keep in mind:
  • Your DM history carries over into your new inbox, but your PM history will start fresh on the day of the rollout.
  • Your unread count might look a little different. PM and DM unreads now share one number. If you have more than 99 unread DMs, we’ll mark them as read so you don’t start with a wall of old notifications. Anything you’ve marked unread yourself is still marked unread.
  • Your messaging settings will not change. Anyone who can message you now will still be able to message you after the update.
This update lays the foundation for exciting new ways to earn, coming soon. We’re working on adding a paid messaging feature, giving you built-in options to charge per message or offer messaging access for a set period of time. You’ll also be able to sell content directly in your messages! Stay tuned for more information.

If you have any questions about this update, you can learn more on the Creator Portal or reach out to our support team. Let us know what you think!
 
Your messaging settings will not change. Anyone who can message you now will still be able to message you after the update.
I wish that we had the option to reset who is allowed to private message us.

During my first year camming, I sent way too many PMs to people who never ended up tipping me. They can still PM me to this day. Hundreds of them. 😩
 
Upvote 0
As discussed in the 'Updates' thread here, I really don't like the merged messaging processes, and wish that it was possible to opt out of the changes, to give users the ability to retain use of PMs where that is their preference.
 
Upvote 0
I personally like the way it looks and all, the operation of it feels clunky though. Like it's a different flow of clicks. lol I have no idea how to describe that. It would be nice for the users that have gotten used of this (or just me haha) to be able to go back to the messages list by clicking the message tab as well. Then you can't right click on users for a menu in it. You have to go to the main chat or the users tab. This stuff I kind of feel will just get ironed out over time anyways.
 
Upvote 0
Feedback so far: besides the absolute hassle and horror of having to juggle between messages (let's be honest, the previous interface was more UI friendly).
Several users couldn't send pics because of this error: "You must be a supporter, fan club member, or moderator to send this message". The people in question tipped beforehand, so we're not talking free pics.

Few refreshes later, pics could be sent BUT on my end, it doesn't let me click on them on the first try to see what I'm...supposed to look at. Couple refreshes later, I can finally click on said pic and see it full sized.

Would be nice to go to the back interface while keeping the same rule, aka "Spam and poaching attempts will be automatically filtered out of your inbox."
 
Upvote 0